Schoeman, VD Burgh Take Gold on Night Three

by Rory Buck (RoryBuck)

Bookmark and Share

Created April 14th, 2010 05:08:03 PM

Modified April 14th, 2010 05:08:03 PM

The third night of the South African National Championships continued this evening in Durban, South Africa.

The first event of the night was the final of the Men’s 200 Backstroke which saw local boy, Charl Van Zyl race away to a win in 2:00.24, just under 6 seconds ahead of any one else in the field. Chris van der Sande and John Ellis dueled it out for the silver medal with van der Sande finishing in 2:06.02, followed by Ellis in 2:06.58.

The Women’s 100 Freestyle saw another run away winner as Karin Prinsloo won gold in 56.28. Kayla Ferreira managed to break the 58.00 barrier to finish 2nd in 57.94 followed by Jo-Mari Van Zyl in 58.41.

The Women’s 200 Breastroke final saw a tight race between Ronwyn Roper, Jean Marie Neethling and Jessica Pengelly. Roper managed to put in a sub 40-second final 50m to take the win in 2.33.77. Former South African star sprinter, Ryk Neethling’s sister, Jean Marie Neethling took the silver in 2.34.31 just ahead of Jessica Pengelly in 2.34.78.

Looking to claim the fastest time in the world, (a correction of last night’s post, Australian Geoff Huegill, not Schoeman or Bousquet, holds the fastest time in 2010 with a 23.46) Roland Schoeman won the Men’s 50 fly this evening in a time slightly slower than his 23.58 semi final swim. Schoeman hit the wall in 23.69 ahead of Garth Tune (24.03) and Neil Watson (24.22).

Channelle Van Wyk took the Women’s 100 Backstroke final out with good speed and held on to be the only women in the field to go under 1.03.00 finishing in 1.02.46. Olympian Mandy Loots found herself in the silver medal position again finishing in 1.03.22. After winning the 100 Freestyle, Karin Prinsloo finished 3rd in 1:03.52.

Looking to go under the 1.00 mark in the Men’s 100 Breastroke, Cameron Vd Burgh struggled a little bit this evening finishing in 1:01.53. Despite the slightly slower time from his semi final swim, Vd Burgh still managed to win the event easily over Neil Versfeld (1:02.12) and William Diering (1:03.58). (Another correction on last night’s post. Vd Burgh does not hold the fastest time in the world in the 100 LC Breastroke, Brenton Rickard of Australia holds that title in 1.00.19)


In semi final action;

 Cal Bear, Graeme Moore leads Auburn sprinter, Gideon Louw going into the final of the Men 100 Freestyle. Moore finished the semi final this evening in 49.55 ahead of Louw’s 49.83. Darian Townsend will be seeded third with a 50.02. Roland Schoeman, who was arguably holding a little back before his 50 Fly final qualified in 4th with a 50.41.

 50m Butterfly winner, Vanessa Mohr will go into the 100 Butterfly final tomorrow night seeded 1st. Mohr finished the semi final this evening with a time of 1:02.07. 50 Fly runner up, Mandy Loots (1.02.81) and locally based, Bianca Meyer (1.02.84) will swim either side of Mohr in what looks to be a tight race tomorrow evening.